Honored teachers are all Pelican area retirees

Inductees to the Pelican Rapids School Hall of Fame have been announced—along with four familiar staff named to the “Teacher Honor Roll.” 

Athletes who will enter the Hall include the entire 1976-77, state tournament-qualifying boys basketball team that went all the way to the final game, but lost in a heartbreaker. 

Individual athletes and coaches are:

  • Jim Knutson, member of the 1976-77 team, who held school basketball scoring records for decades before they were surpassed.
  • Brian Evenson, long-time golf coach and former owner of Birchwood Golf Course—which is Pelican school’s home field for golf. 
  • Joy Krekelberg, multi-sport athlete, but best known for her track performances and five state championships as a runner and relay team member. 
  • Pat Westby, a member of the 1984 state champion boys basketball team.

The staff “Honor Roll” inductees are all familiar names, and faces, who have continued to be active in the Pelican area community in retirement: Judy Tabbut, Wayne Woolever, Bonnie Nordstrom, and Kathy Bergren. 

The Viking Gala and associated Hall of Fame induction program have become an autumn tradition in Pelican, in conjunction with the high school homecoming weekend.