Jacob Willits earned a nice win against 195# Koal Ploutz from BHVPP.
Sebastian Centeno 138# won over Blake Sumstad BHVPP.
Abraham Gonzalez 220# win against Steven Petrich Staples-Motley with a exciting match —earning Abraham wrestler of the meet for Feb. 9.

The Pelican Rapids High Schlool Viking wrestlers traveled to Verndale Feb. 9 to take on the seventh ranked Bertha- Hewitt-Verndale / Parkers Prairie, a team with four state-ranked wrestlers.  

“They proved that they were worth this ranking as they won seven matches by pin,” said Pelican Coach Harold Holt. 

The first victory for the Vikings came at 138 when Captain Sebastian Centeno pinned his man at the end of the first period at 1:53.  

And at 145 when Carter Johnson defeated his opponent 15-1.  

“He had him on his back working hard for a pin, but ran out of time,” Commented Coach Holt.  

Captain Johnny Ziebell recorded his 14th victory with his 9th pin of year when he defeated his man in 3:43. 

The last victory for the Vikings came when their third Captain, Jacob Willits defeated his opponent 15-6 for a major decision.   

In the second match of the evening the Vikings took on the Cardinals from Staples Motely, who defeated them 57-18. 

 Pelican’s three wins all came by pin, winning  were Centeno, Ziebell and Gonzalez.  

Abraham Gonzalez was chosen as Wrestler of the Meet for his pin at 220 in 5:17.  This was his sixth win and third pin of the season.  

Bertha Hewit Verndale Parkers Prairie 60, Pelican Rapids 20 

106: Bennet Arceneau (BHVP) over Jackson Peasley (PERA) (Fall 0:24)  

113: David Revering (BHVP) over Jed Carlson (PERA) (Fall 0:59)  

120: Deagen Captain (BHVP) over Daniel Diaz (PERA) (Fall 2:29)  

126: Aiden Larson (BHVP) over (PERA) (For.)  

132: Reese Thompson (BHVP) over Tommy Thach (PERA) (Fall 5:38)  

138: Sebastian Centeno (PERA) over Blake Sumstad (BHVP) (Fall 1:53)  

145: Carter Johnson (PERA) over Gauge Malone (BHVP) (MD 15-1)  

152: Jason Koehn (BHVP) over Jack Kapenga (PERA) (Fall 0:52)  

160: Mason Schroeder (BHVP) over Kayden Holt (PERA) (Fall 0:23)  

170: Hunter Dean (BHVP) over (PERA) (For.)  

182: John Ziebell (PERA) over Tyler Eggert (BHVP) (Fall 3:43)  

195: Jacob Willits (PERA) over Koal Ploutz (BHVP) (MD 15-6)  

220: James Grant (BHVP) over (PERA) (For.)  

285: Hayden Captain (BHVP) over Abraham Gonzalez (PERA) (Fall 0:43) 

Wrestlers of Meet were the three Captains 

Sebastian Centeno, John Ziebell and Jacob Willits 

Staples Motley  57 Pelican Rapids 18 

106: Riley Reese (STMO) over Jackson Peasley (PERA) (Dec 6-3)  

113: Aidan Winter (STMO) over Jed Carlson (PERA) (Fall 1:17)  

120: Colbe Tappe (STMO) over Daniel Diaz (PERA) (Fall 1:17)  

126: Jason Trantina (STMO) over (PERA) (For.)  

132: Dalton Wells (STMO) over Tommy Thach (PERA) (Dec 6-2)  

138: Sebastian Centeno (PERA) over Blake Neelan (STMO) (Fall 2:53)  

145: Conner Dobson (STMO) over Carter Johnson (PERA) (Dec 7-5)  

152: Logen Weite (STMO) over Jack Kapenga (PERA) (Fall 0:55)  

160: Sam Jennissen (STMO) over Kayden Holt (PERA) (Fall 0:41)  

170: Andrew Salcido (STMO) over (PERA) (For.)  

182: John Ziebell (PERA) over Hunter Martin (STMO) (Fall 2:58)  

195: Alex Giza (STMO) over Jacob Willits (PERA) (Fall 4:56)  

220: Abraham Gonzalez (PERA) over Steven Petrich (STMO) (Fall 5:17) 

285: Cole Winkels (STMO) over (PERA) (For.) 

Abraham Gonzalez  Wrestler of the Meet

Top five Pelican Rapids varsity wrestlers and their record this season 

Wins Pins Team points 

Johnny Ziebell 14 9 79 

Jacob Willits 10 7 56 

Carter Jonson 10 3 43 

Sebastian Centeno 10 2 48 

Jed Carlson 9 3 47