The Pelican Rapids High School football team enjoyed a successful 2019 season. 

The year ended with a 7-4 record and the Section 8AA runner-up.   Advancing to the section championship game was a major goal for the team and one they take great pride in accomplishing. The team was also the runner-up in the South Division of the Northwest Football District. 

“I really felt like the team improved as the season progressed,” said Coach Dave Haugen. “With a large number of our players returning next year we get to celebrate the successes of this season, but also look ahead with anticipation of good things to come in the 2020 season.”  

The 2019 Vikings football team was supportive of one another and really got along with each other on and off the field.

One of the highlights of the year that will be remembered for a long time will be the Hawley game that was played in a snowstorm. By the end of the game you couldn’t make out the yard lines on the field and footing was definitely tricky.   Winning the game made it even better. 

The 2019 team was led in rushing by Junior McHale Korf with 737 yards on 144 carries and 10 touchdowns. Right behind him was Johnny Ziebell with 627 yards and 5 touchdowns. The leading receiver was Junior Logan Fahje with 29 receptions, 458 yards and 7 touchdowns.  Jayden Rutherford caught 19 passes for 358 yards and 8 touchdowns.  Rutherford, a junior, led the team in total touchdowns with 13.  Quarterback McHale Korf completed 62 passes on 116 attempts for 1035 yards and 17 touchdowns.  

Defensively Junior linebacker Johnny Ziebell led the team in tackles with 66.5 total tackles on the year.  He also had the most tackles for loss with 7. He was closely followed in total tackles by senior Matty Ziebell with 58.5.  

Jayden Rutherford led the team in interceptions with 3. 

Individual football honors

The following awards were given out to the Pelican Rapids High School football team.

Most Valuable Player – McHale Korf

Leading Rusher – McHale Korf

Leading Receiver – Logan Fahje

Most Pancakes – Liam Sytsma

Most Tackles – Johnny Ziebell

Most Interceptions – Jayden Rutherford

Viking Pride – Liam Sytsma

Offensive Scout Player of the Year – Ian Fahje

Defensive Scout Player of the Year – Carter Johnson 

All District – McHale Korf, Jayden Rutherford, Liam Sytsma, Johnny Ziebell

Jerry Sonnek District Lineman of the year – Liam Sytsma

All District Honorable Mention – Logan Fahje, Weston Funk, Nick Haugrud

All-Section – Logan Fahje, McHale Korf, Liam Sytsma, Johnny Ziebell, Nick Haugrud