Pelican matmen notch three victories

Carson Haugrud earned an award for going 4-0 in the tournament.
Carson Haugrud, pictured above with his parents, notched 50 pins and 75 wins recently.
Carson Haugrud
Anthony Reese in action on the mat.

The Viking wrestling won three matches at the Mahnomen team tournament to take second place to Crookston who was 4- 0 while Pelican was 3-1. Their season record is now 5-8

This tournament was the first time many wrestlers went down a weight because of the growth allowance of two pounds on January 1. This allowed the Vikings to cover one of their forfeits and become a stronger team. New wrestlers added to the lineup because of this are Johnny Ziebell who went 2-2 and Matt Osborne who went 2-1. Carson McNeal who had not wrestled varsity since the first dual of the season went an impressive 3-1.

In a team tournament a team is allowed to weigh in up to 19 wrestlers. Against Red Lake County Central the Vikings wrestled many of these junior varsity kids allowing them to get some varsity experience.

The highlight of the tournament was when Carson Haugrud, who is ranked 5th at 182 in the class A rankings, first earned his 50th varsity pin against Wadena and then his 75th varsity win against Mahnomen/Waubun. He also earned an award for going 4-0 in this tournament. Carson has a perfect 13-0 record for 76 varsity wins which is 29th most wins. His 52 pins ties him for seventh.

Next Saturday will be a busy day for the mat men as the 7-8- 9th graders will return to Mahnomen to compete in the 9th and under Section tournament. If an individual places first or second they will earn a trip to the state tournament February 3. Teams that place in the top two will compete in the state team tournament January 20. The varsity will go to Parkers Prairie to wrestle in an individual tournament.

Pelican Rapids 51    Wadena Deer Creek 24
106 Tommy Thach (PR) WB decision over Simon Snyder (WDC) 11-4
113 Sebastian Centeno (PR) WB fall over Bel Snyder (WDC) 3:54
120 Carson McNeal (PR) WB fall over Kobe Endres (WDC) 0:30
126 James Furey (PR) WB decision over Cameron Pearson 5-3
132 Jayson Young (WDC) WB fall over Noah Kapenga (PR) 3:00
138 Isaac Hale (WDC) WB forfeit
145 Max Dykhoff (PR) WB fall over Mitchel Hale (WDC) 0:29
152 Johnny Ziebell (PR) WB Fall over Brayden Kleinke (WDC) 5:24
160 Matt Ziebell (PR) WB decision Cody Wheeler (WDC) 6-0
170 Zane Brosowske (PR) WB forfeit
182 Carson Haugrud (PR) WB fall Steven Erkenbrack (WDC) 5:07
195 Jericho Baker (WDC) WB fall over Zack Partlow (PR) 0:39
220 Logan Wegscheid (WDC) WB forfeit
285 Jacob Willits (PR) WB forfeit
Wrestler of the Meet Carson Haugrud for earning his 50th pin while on varsity

Pelican Rapids 40    Mahnomen/Waubun 26
106 Tommy Thach (PR) WB forfeit
113 Sebastian Centeno (PR) WB forfeit
120 Garret Elynck (MW) WB Major decision over James Furey (PR) 9-0
126 Carson McNeal (PR) WB fall over Krisstofer Cukla (MW) 1:04
132 Sam Olson (MW) WB fall over Noah Kapenga (PR) 5:33
138 Adam Syverson (MW) WB forfeit
145 Blake Gieray (MW) WB major decision over Max Dykhoff (PR) 14-6
152 Chase Dorman (MW) WB fall over Johnny Ziebell (PR) 3:10
160 Zane Brosowske (PR) WB forfeit
170 Matt Ziebell (PR) WB forfeit
182 Matt Osborne (PR) WB forfeit
195 Carson Haugrud (PR) WB fall over Chander Lacey (MW) 5:32
220 Jacob Willits (PR) WB forfeit
285 double forfeit
Wrestler of the Meet Carson Haugrud for earning his 75th win while on varsity

Crookston 45    Pelican Rapids 21
106 Zach Brown ( C ) WB fall over Tommy Thach (PR) 1:55
113 Anthony Reese (PR) WB decision over Nolan Dans ( C ) 13-11
120 James Furey (PR) WB decision over Baxton Volker ( C ) 6-3
126 Cameron Weiland ( C ) WB fall over Carson McNeal (PR) 1:08
132 Cameron Hulst ( C ) WB forfeit
138 Ethan Boll ( C ) WB forfeit
145 Colton Meier ( C ) WB fall over Max Dykhoff (PR) 3:24
152 Lukas Meier (C ) WB fall over Johnny Ziebell (PR) 3:24
160 Luke Tranolem ( C ) WB Decesion over Zane Brosowske (PR) 13-9
170 Matt Ziebell (PR) WB decision over Damian Hodgdon ( C ) 7-5
182 Matt Osborne (PR) WBF over Luis Argueta ( C ) 3:52
195 Carson Haugrud (PR) WB fall over Jake Davidson (C ) 1:44
220 Jake Wagner ( C ) WB fall over Jacob Willits (PR) 0:26
Wrestler of the Meet Matt Osborne

Pelican Rapids 54    Red Lake County Central 25
106 Tommy Thach (PR) WB fall over Gunnar Sandee (RLCC) 1:47
113 Damon Ferguson (RLCC) WB fall over Mark LaPoint (PR) 1:27
120 Paul DeHate (RLCC) WB major decision over Carter Johnson (PR) 11-2
126 Carson McNeal (PR) WB fall over Oscar Duden (RLCC) 0:32
132 Noah Kapenga (PR) WB Forfeit
138 Sebastian Rosiles (PR) WB Forfeit
145 Max Dykhoff (PR) WB Forfeit
152 Johnny Ziebell (PR) WB Forfeit
160 Zane Brosowske (PR) WB Forfeit
170 Tristyn Fergusson (RLCC) WB decision over Matt Osborne (PR) 7-6
182 Carson Haugrud (PR) WB Forfeit
195 Zack Partlow (PR) WB Forfeit
220 Nick Pahlen (RLCC) WB Forfeit
285 George Dusen (RLCC) WB Fall over Jacob Willits (PR) 3:36
Wrestler of the Meet Carson McNeal for his pin, this was his third pin of the day.