Isaman named Section Coach of the Year

The 2017 Lady Viking vol-
leyball team, pictured at the Nov. 27 awards banquet.

The Pelican Rapids volleyball team held their end of season banquet November 27.

Coach Heidi Isaman was named Section 6A “Coach of the Year,” as she led her squad to an overall season record of 19-7 . The Lady Vikings won 17 of those contests by 3-0 sweeps of their opponents.

Some season highlights mentioned at the banquet were:
• Section record 14-3
• Conference record 3-3
• 2nd in Pelican Rapids Tournament
• 5th in Fergus Falls tourney
• Named Craig Olson team of the week
• Getting #2 seed in 6A north subsection
• Sarah Thompson earning her 1,000 career assist

Pelican Rapids Coach Heidi Isaman was named Section 6A “Coach of the Year” for 2017. She is pictured at right with team members during practice.
Awards given:

Returning letter winners: Taylor Berndt, Jessica Weinrich, Grace Johnson, Morgan Berg, Rachel Gottenborg, Kaylie Isaman, Sarah Thompson, Adriana Torres, Ryley Paulson, and managers Madison Waller and Korinne Spicer

New letter winners: Grace Peterson, Riley Berg and manager Kalista Pearsall

Captains: Morgan Berg, Taylor Berndt, Jessica Weinrich, Kaylie Isaman, Adriana Torres

All Conference honorable mention: Taylor Berndt and Adriana Torres

All Conference: Jessica Weinrich and Sarah Thompson

Statistical Awards:

Most outstanding blocker: Jessica Weinrich-65 blocks

Most outstanding hitter: Jessica Weinrich-222 kills

Most outstanding setter: Sarah 666 assists (broke her own season record from 2016 and also Hally Evenson’s career record of 1001 assists)

Most aggressive server: Kaylie Isaman-41 aces

Most consistent server: Rachel Gottenborg 95 % 307/342

Most outstanding defensive player: Kaylie Isaman-260 digs

Voting Awards:

Most outstanding passer: Rachel Gottenborg and Kaylie Isaman

Hustle Award: Taylor Berndt

Most Aggressive: Adriana Torres

Most Consistent: Sarah Thompson

Most outstanding team player: Morgan Berg

Most improved: Morgan Berg

Most dedicated: Taylor Berndt

Comeback Award: Grace Johnson

Most Valuable: Sarah Thompson