By Tom Hintgen, Otter Tail County Correspondent

The county board of commissioners, on March 7, approved new contracts for transfer service providers as recommended by the county solid waste department.

“Our current contracts with our transfer services providers expire March 31, 2017,” said County Solid Waste Director Mike Hanan.

Otter Tail County provides for the proper management of solid waste at transfer stations, landfills and resource recovery facilities.

Hanan, at the county board meeting, submitted proposals for transfer services at the Northeast Otter Tail Landfill and Transfer Station, Henning Transfer Station and Demolition Landfill, Battle Lake Transfer Station, Pelican Rapids Transfer Station, Parkers Prairie Transfer Station and the Fergus Falls Transfer Station.

“The proposed contracts are submitted for county board approval after a transfer station bid process,” said Hanan. “This includes Otter Tail County providing a detailed list of equipment which the county is required to have available at each site.”

Approving Hanan’s requests, in a unanimous vote, were County Board Chairman Doug Huebsch of Perham and Commissioners Wayne Johnson of Pelican Rapids, Lee Rogness of Fergus Falls, John Lindquist of Dalton and Roger Froemming of Parkers Prairie.

Hanan reminded commissioners that the county solid waste department manages its operations according to local, state and federal rules and regulations.

“Our goal is to provide cost effective and environmentally conservative services to all residents of Otter Tail County,” he said.

County officials, through the solid waste department, also encourage county residents to recycle. In that effort, the county provides for the proper management of household hazardous waste.