Pelican hosts triangular; travels to Barnesville, Lake Park

Wrestling at 120, Pelican’s James Fury is on top in this home match against Staples-Motley opponent Blayne Dumpprope.
Matt Ziebell, wrestling varsity as a freshman at 152, against Staples-Motley opponent Isaac Swendsrud.
Junior varsity Pelican matmen saw plenty of action over the past week, including Zach Partlow–pictured here against a Bertha-Hewitt, Verndale-Parkers Prairie opponent Jan. 19 in Pelican.
Pelican’s Zane Brosowske, wrestling at 160 at the home meet Jan. 19.

By Louis Hoglund

The Pelican Rapids High School Viking “Mat Men” had a very busy week competing in three duals and one tournament.

Pelican Rapids wrestler Carson Haugrud notched his 50th career win Jan. 19, at the home meet against Staples-Motley.

On  January 17 they travelled to Barnesville to take on the Trojans and lost 75-6.

The only win for the Vikings was at 106 where Sebastian Centeno received a forfeit. Once again forfeits hurt the team. The coaches could have sent some younger wrestlers out to fill some of the weights but it was felt that getting them beaten would have done them no good.  Coach Holt stated that he would rather have them wrestle a full JV match against equal age and equal ability rather than have them wrestle a varsity match and getting pinned in the first period.

Also missing from the lineup was Casey Kurlsrud who had strep throat and Armando Diaz who injured his elbow in practice. Both of them missed all week and hope to be ready for the Heart O’ Lakes – Mid State Tournament this weekend in Pelican

Pelican Triangular hosted by Vikings

On Jan. 19 Pelican hosted tenth ranked Staples and the newly combined team of Bertha Hewitt/Verndale- Parker Prairie. The Vikings showed a lot of spirit but were unable to compete against these veteran teams. One highlight of the first dual against Staples was Carson Haugrud earning his 50th varsity win. Following this weekend he has 54 wins tied for 56th in 57 years of wrestling at Pelican.

Another highlight was that part time varsity wrestler Mat Ziebell earned two wins.  Matt has had to hold out of some matches because there is a 36 match count going into sections and with him qualifying for the ninth and under state tournament the coaches have limited his matches.  For his efforts he was voted Wrestler of the meet by his team mates in both matches.

Pelican makes 40th appearance at Lake Park meet

Even though Pelican only sent five wrestlers to the Terry Teiken Tournament in Lake Park they finished sixth out of eight teams. Every wrestler was able to earn points for the team and place.

In the 40 year history of this tournament, Pelican is the only team to have competed in every tournament. Even Lake Park cannot say this as they have combined with other schools over the years.   This tournament also honors longtime assistant wrestling coach from Pelican Mr. C. Dean Fox. Each year they award a sportsmanship trophy in his honor.

Carson Haugrud was the only champion for the Vikings. He wrestled at 170 and pinned all three opponents. His records is 21-6 with 18 pins.

Coaches Holt, Evenson and Dykoff felt that all the wrestlers had a very good day and are showing steady improvement.  They hope that they will peak at section time.

40th Annual Terry Teiken Invitational Results for Pelican Rapids

120 – James Furey 3rd

Lost by fall to Jack Fuchs (Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton) 13 (Fall 0:49)

Won by fall over Dylan Pearson (Breckenridge) (Fall 0:51)

Won by fall over Sam Helgeson (United Clay Becker) (Fall 2:50)

3rd Place Match – won by decision over Justin Boyd (Fergus Falls) (Dec 5-2)

138 – Matt Hanson 6th

Lost by fall to  Triston Stoetzel (Osakis)  (Fall 0:47)

Lost by fall to  Dane Schoenborn (Fosston) (Fall 1:46)

5th Place Match lost by fall to Carter Gilles (Breckenridge)  (Fall 2:17)

152 – Matthew Ziebell 4th

Won by fall over Tyler Maruska (Fosston)  (Fall 1:11)

Lost by won by tech fall to Spencer Sikkink (Fergus Falls) (TF-1.5 5:30 (18-2))

Won by fall over Bradyn Boe (United Clay Becker) (Fall 2:01)

3rd Place Match –lost  by decision to  Mason Meyer (Breckenridge) (Dec 9-2)

160 – Zane Brosowske 5th

Won by fall over Austin Snobl (Breckenridge) 1-6 (Fall 2:30)

Lost by tech fall lost to Colton Waldvogel (Osakis) (TF-1.5 4:03 (20-4))

Lost  in tie breaker to Baily Johnson (United Clay Becker)  (TB-1  7-6)

5th Place Match – won by fall over Austin Snobl (Breckenridge)  (Fall 1:33)

170 – Carson Haugrud 1st

Won by fall over Dominic Strom (Osakis)  (Fall 2:55)

Won by fall over Luke Syverson (Fosston)  (Fall 3:37)

Won by fall over Jack Osborne  (Fall 0:52)

Bertha-Hewitt-Verdale-Parkers Prairie 42  –  Pelican Rapids 22

106 Anthony Reese WBF over Reese Thompson 5:43

113 Jason Koehn (BHVPP) won by forfeit

120 Trevor Arceneau (BHVPP) won by forfeit

126 Mason Schroeder (BHVPP) won by forfeit

132 Chase Graba (BHVPP) won by forfeit

138 Zach Olson (BHVPP) WBF over Max Dyhkoff 0:56

145 Devin Dean (BHVPP) WBF over Matt Hanson 1:09

152 Matt Ziebell (PR) WBF over Cody Shamp  1:01

160 Zane Brosowske  WBMD over Carter Rokes 12-2

170 Carson Haugrud WBF over Derek Kimber 0:44

182 double forfeit

195 double forfeit

220 double forfeit

285 Joe Baker (BHVVPP) won by forfeit

Barnesville 75 – Pelican Rapids 6

106 Sebastian Centeno (PR)  won by forfeit

113 Timmy Boone (BV) won by forfeit

120 Chase Brenner (BV) over Jame Furey (PR)  2:33

126 Hunter Anderson (BV) won by forfeit

132 Caleb Stetz (BV) won by forfeit

138 Tanner Kadrmas (BV) over Matt Hanson (PR) 0:49

145 Brady Knoll (BV) over Max Dykoff (PR) 2:26

152 Brady Tweeton (BV) over Zane Brosowske (PR)

160 Xavier Kadrmas (BV) forfeit

170 Preston Snobl decision over Carson Haugrud (PR) 9-5

182 Alex Jenson (BV) won by fall over Noah Ziebell (PR) 0:39

195 Jackson Poepping (BV) won by forfeit

220 Kieran Johnson (BV) won by forfeit

285 Bradey Berg (BV) won by forfeit

Wrestler of the Meet: Carson Haugrud

Staples 48  –  Pelican Rapids 9

106 Payton Bjerga (SM) WBF over Evan Fankhanel 1:42

113 Brayden Christensen WBF over Carson McNeal 1:31

120 Blayne Dumpprope WBD over James Furey 3-1

126 Owen Bjerga (SM) won by forfeit

132 Eric Lissen (SM) won by forfeit

138 Blake Gerard (SM) WBF over Matt Hanson 1:51

145 Cade Schmiodt (SM) won by forfeit

152 Matt Ziebell WBD over Isaac Swendsrud (SM) 4-0

160 Jonathan Lisson WBD over Zane Brosowske 5-0

171 Carson Haugrud won by forfeit

189 Alex Erpelding (SM) won by forfeit

195 double forfeit

220 double forfeit

285 double forfeit

Wrestler of the Meet: Matt Ziebell